top of page

The conservation; a look back and comparison

Last year I went to a conservation for my birthday, and photographed a lot of beautiful imagary, but it was all on auto. This year I went back to try and put what I have learnt to use, shooting mainly on aperture priority, or manual mode.

I still have to edit the pictures from my shoot with Chelsea, but my photoshop is on my old laptop, and since I went to the conservation today I thought I’d post those pictures here as an update for the time being. — in this image I was making my mom’s bf drive at 50 on the motorway due to my injuries ( sliding around in the back got me re-injured last time I was in the car ) my nerve damage doesn’t really hinder my photography as I have a high pain threshold and find my crutches useful for stabilisation(like a tripod), when I do have to use them that is, but sliding around in the back of the car caused me to have pain and stiffness in my ankle for a week last time he drove crazy I still have to edit the pictures from my shoot with Chelsea, but my photoshop is on my old laptop and since I went to the conservation today I thought I’d post those pictures here as an update for the time being.

Here are my favourite images from the conservation it self

I tried to keep in mind depth of field and rules of thirds for some of the pictures but I also wanted to go with my gut on a few of them too. I found getting the exposure just right, and the shutter speed fast enough to catch the frantic flutterings quite difficult at times, but I feel that the images have a lot more atmosphere and feeling to them than the ones I shoot on auto, they seem to come out more vivid too and I really enjoy having the extra control over how my images turn out too. One of my absolute favourite shots, is a little blurry but so so sweet;

This little girl and her dad were waiting patiently for me to get pictures of the waterfall, and while she was waiting this guy landed on her ! A lot of the other children were manhandling the butterflies and grabbing them, but she just let out a little squeak, stood as still as she could and whispered “daddy daddyy look !” so cute !!! it stayed on her for quite a while too haha I asked if they minded me taking a picture and showed her this shot which she approved of haha!

sg.JPG
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page